Thirty-two Students Inducted to the St. John's Chapter of National Junior Honor Society


St. Johnís Episcopal School inducted 32 members to its chapter of the National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) April 26. The process to becoming a member begins with an invitation to seventh or eighth grade students who maintained a grade average of 93% or above over the past five trimesters. Students then go through a multi-step application process, including a written essay explaining why they should be in NJHS and how they have demonstrated its five pillars - scholarship, service, leadership, character and citizenship.

During the induction ceremony, Head of School Mark Crotty commended the inductees for their ability to self-reflect with such honesty and humility in their essays. The ceremony ended with a charge to always be true to their own values and ideals, and feel proud of their accomplishments.

Librarian Jennifer Powers sponsors the St. John ís chapter of NJHS. Members serve the school and raise money throughout the year to support a variety of student-selected organizations and projects. St. Johnís NJHS members inducted in the seventh grade are required to complete 40 hours of community service before the end of their eighth grade year.

New NJHS members are: Toby Barrett, Jet Beck, Paisley Brown, Nate Carley, Elisa Carroll, Ava Christensen, Abby Claybrook, Emilye Dullye, Emma Fitzgerald, Claudia Hamilton, Andrew Herring, Walker Houdek, Alexis Ikemba, Claire Jordan, William Kulas, Tate Laczkowski, William Langdoc, Mason Lee, Hagen Lowe, Pace Maxwell, Mary Lou McMillan, Matthew Muscato, Ellie Phillips, Sarah Phillips, Quinn Pizza, Camden Reeves, Leslie Schopmeyer, Giselle Sethi, Emma Slusher, Emma Sochia, Dylan Stalcup and Katy Timmins.